VANCOUVER – Oct. 26, 2018 – Allteck Line Contractors, Inc. is proud to announce that we received the Gold Award in the Electrical Contractors – Over $5 Million category for our Shinish-Pennask 34.5kV Project at the 30th Annual VRCA 2018 Awards of Excellence on October 23.

About the Winning Project:

The project we submitted included the engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) of a 35km 34.5kV line for the Shinish Creek Wind Project, which connects ten 3MW Wind Turbine Generators to the BC Hydro grid. The transmission facility was a single circuit 35kV overhead line and ADSS fiber optic cable running beneath the conductors. The majority of the collector line is located on vacant crown land and parallels BC Hydro’s 500kV Circuit 5L098 an approximate distance of 21km. Significant clearing, logging, and road building was required along the narrow right-of-way in order to facilitate powerline construction. The project required an expedited EPC approach to complete the scope of work in an eight (8) month period.

A special congratulations to Will Corse (Project Manager), Brad Erickson (VP of Operations), Derek Hutchinson (VP of Transmission Services), George Mulder (Senior Forester), Justin Wong (Construction Manager), Rob E. Mitchell (General Foreman), Brandon Fiscus (General Foreman), and a big thank you to the rest of the crew and support staff for their hard work.

Find the VRCA 2018 Awards of Excellence Online:

About the VRCA 2018 Awards of Excellence:

The Vancouver Regional Construction Association (VRCA) is British Columbia’s largest and most inclusive regional construction association with close to 700 members. The VRCA proudly represents union and non-union, general and trade contractors, manufacturers, suppliers and professionals who service the industrial, commercial and institutional construction industry.

“Each year, the VRCA recognizes the finest companies, projects and individuals in the construction industry. Three Silver Award winners are selected in 15 project categories for their use of innovative techniques, new materials and/or exceptional project management. On the night, one Silver Award winner from each category will be chosen as the Gold Award winner.”